Ketupat

Honestly, I doubt if this can be categorized into my ‘walk-offs’ as when I wrote the category I was thinking about the places I would go or a museum or a unique shop or a beach or a mountain… But then I think while writing this title, it happened to associate with a place I went, the traditional market.

Last Saturday, a few days before the Moslem in my country celebrate Eid Mubarak, I went to the traditional market near my house to buy some fruits, vegetables and fish and I saw these Ketupat hanging on a long bamboo rope at almost every stall that sold vegetables and spices. Aha, that was a sign for the coming Eid Mubarak ( Lebaran day as it’s known in my country ).

This kind of food we always have at the celebration of the Eid Mubarak, though we could have it at any time of the year only it will be difficult finding the seller for this ketupat.

Ketupat is made from rice that wrapped in a woven palm leaf pouch and boiled. The use of the palm leaves are only the young leaves. 

The tradition on preparing and consuming ketupat  during lebaran is believed to be introduced by Sunan Kalijaga, one of Wali Songo (nine Muslim saints) that spread Islam in Java, as it contains appropriate symbolism. It is believed that kupat  ( in Javanese language ) means ngaku lepat or “admitting one’s mistakes”  in accordance to asking for forgiveness tradition during lebaran. The crossed weaving of palm leafs symbolizes mistakes and sins committed by human beings, and the inner whitish rice cake symbolize purity and deliverance from sins after observing Ramadhan fast, prayer and rituals. As well as in Java island, ketupat is well known throughout all parts of Indonesia. (*wikipedia)

During the lebaran, ketupat , as the replacement of steamed rice, is usually eaten with satay, rendang ( traditional stewed beef from Padang , West Sumatera ), sayur papaya ( young papaya that is cooked with coconut  milk ).

Here I took some pictures of the ketupat and its condiments that my neighbor sent to our family. That’s another tradition in our country where our neighbor who celebrate lebaran would send the food to their close neighbor who doesn’t  celebrate lebaran, to enjoy the ketupat time.

20140726_091100_resized20140726_091126_120140727_132148_resized20140727_132402_resized

Leave a Reply

