Delighted Lunch

Lunch at the office , sometimes could be a hard-to-decide-thing-in-empty-stomach. Living in Jakarta where every tenant in an office  building ( almost 99% ) goes out to have lunch either at shopping mall where you have thousands of chosen menu,  warteg ( a local hawker who set up his food stall near the office building during lunch time ) or office canteen , and a few, like me, bring our homemade lunch to the office. In Indonesia, when we have lunch, it means having rice  with chicken or fish or meat and veggies or a bowl of spicy noodle. For most of us, we just don’t have sandwich for lunch as the Westerners do.

I don’t always have time to cook in the morning ( I should make it , though ) as many mornings I’d prefer to get lazy having my coffee or tea after getting some sweats from morning run , than busy cooking in the kitchen. But for the last two weeks, I pushed myself to have a time  to cook my daily lunch , experimenting recipes I get from Jamie Oliver’s, Just One Cook Book’s site ( simple Japanese food ) or other Indonesian food blogs.

Actually my Mom is a great cook , and she has many menus that I love to share but cooking a delicious Indonesian food , for me, will always take an extra time to prepare all the ingredients as we use many varieties of spices in our menu.

I love veggies and chicken besides the fish as our main menu at home. But cooking fish is taking more time to prepare while I have only 30 minutes to rumble in the kitchen.

And these are some of the lunch I made and took picture of them, along with dessert. All these are the first trial menu , except for the Brownies. And I must say, they were all good ( LOL  ) for my taste. Pssst, Mom said they were yummy . Well, you know Moms, the great admirer of their kids , haha.

20140926_132959

Honey soya sauce chicken from Just One Cook Book and herb potato from Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolutionary

Okonomiyaki ( Just One Cook Book ). I modified the recipe by adding more veggies ( carrot and beans). Its original recipe is just go with chinese cabbage

Okonomiyaki ( Just One Cook Book ). I modified the recipe by adding more veggies ( carrot and beans). Its original recipe is just go with chinese cabbage

French baked potato from Jamie Oliver

French baked potato from Jamie Oliver

Teriyaki chicken from Just One Cook Book and fried ( could be grilled as well ) green eggplant of my own ( I  sprinkled it with salt, black pepper and oyster sauce )

Teriyaki chicken from Just One Cook Book and fried ( could be grilled as well ) green eggplant of my own ( I sprinkled it with salt, black pepper and oyster sauce )

Spicy Thai dressing broccoli from Jamie Oliver . Very good one. It goes well with rice or baked potato.

Spicy Thai dressing broccoli from Jamie Oliver . Very good one. It goes well with rice or baked potato.

Tonjiru from Just One Cook Book. A refreshing soup with lots of veggies and pork belly ( just few cuts )

Tonjiru from Just One Cook Book. A refreshing soup with lots of veggies and pork belly ( just few cuts )

Classic tomato spaghetti and chili Mexican corn , both from Jamie Oliver's book

Classic tomato spaghetti and chili Mexican corn , both from Jamie Oliver’s book

And here goes my dessert

Gooey Brownies from Laura Vitale. One of my favorites . I have baked it many times and it tasted the same ; yummy

Gooey Brownies from Laura Vitale. One of my favorites . I have baked it many times and it tasted the same ; yummy

Paleo Apple . The recipe was from one of the good food blog, I don't remember  it

Paleo Apple . The recipe was from one of the good food blog, I don’t remember it

Caramel Pudding

Caramel Pudding

3 thoughts on “Delighted Lunch

Leave a Reply

