Welsh Cakes

welsh cake

Ever since I bumped into this lovely cakes at Charlotte’s Web of Bakes, I promised myself that I would bake some as well. I did not know anything about Welsh food or cakes till I saw this at Charlotte. Oh, I am familiar with Scones and love it. Is it from English or Welsh ?

Anyway, I am glad I made this look good and taste good. I put in here the recipe from Charlotte but as usual, I changed it a little bit by adding egg yolk and baking powder. Later I found out that the other recipe uses baking powder.

From Charlotte’s recipe :

225g all purpose flour

1/2 tsp ground mixed spice

80g caster sugar, plus extra for sprinkling

25gr gold raisins

2 egg yolks

4 tbs milk

1/4 baking powder

Method…

1) Sift the flour, mixed spice and sugar into a bowl. Add the pieces of butter and toss them around in the flour so they are lightly coated. Using the tips of your fingers, rub the butter into the flour until the mixture looks like fine crumbs. Add the currants or sultanas and stir in with your hand.

2) Mix the egg yolk with 4 tablespoons of the milk and pour into the bowl. Stir in with a round-bladed knife to make a soft but not sticky dough. If the mixture feels dry and is hard to bring together, add more milk a teaspoon at a time.

3) Turn out the dough on to a lightly floured worktop. Lightly dust a rolling pin with flour, then roll out the dough to about 1cm thick. Dip a cutter (around 5cm) in flour and stamp out rounds. Gather up the trimmings, re-roll and stamp out more rounds.

4) Heat a griddle or heavy-based frying pan – grease it lightly only if necessary as the Welsh cakes shouldn’t be fried in fat. Cook the little cakes in batches for about 2 minutes on each side until they are puffed up and a good golden brown and feel firm when pressed. Remove from the pan with a palette knife, dust with caster sugar ( I did not use the sugar as the cakes were sweet enough ) and eat warm immediately.

welsh cake7

Leave a Reply

