I dream of you

pedrojperez

I wish I would have had your thick black hair,

flowing down your shoulders,

like the darkest sky with no stars.

I wish I would have beheld your clear brown eyes,

where every look of men would pause a while,

whenever they meet your gaze.

I wish my skin would have been as soft and delicate as yours,

as when you touch it, it’s like touching a silk robe made in heaven.

I wish I would have carried your sweet curved line of smile,

that would charm any hearts.

I wish I would have taken your daintily spoken voice,

so beautiful as the sparrow sings a lullaby.

I wish I would have glimpsed your gay laughter,

so radiant it would lit a light around you.

When you closed your eyes in pain and piercing cry,

hating yourself and the world around you,

and just felt they stopped my breathing soul and took me away

from the safe sanctuary inside of you,

I knew I could only dream of you…Mommy

and watch over you as your guardian angel.

I wish I would have been given a chance to be you.

Leave a Reply

