Popeye Fanclub

I totally agree with that sweet-muscled-guy that Spinach is good for you. These are my two recipes I cooked and ate for my breakfast and lunch recently. What should I name them ? Just call it mixed yummy toast and corny spinach soup. The soup we call it here, Sayur Bayam  Bening ( sayur = veggie / bayam = spinach / bening = clear ), just that simple. It’s refreshing though you eat it without any side dishes.

7vgua_i9pzgu5ePuAW7rF9XZo7CUlnnJM8WHcvHLe-M

The recipe for this mixed-yummy-toast is two slices of wheat bread, a slice of smoked beef ( you may have the bacon ), some spinach, one slice of cheddar cheese or mozzarella  and  one poached egg.

I lightly butter the wheat bread and grilled them on a frying pan for a few minutes, just to have a brown crispy toast. As for the smoked beef, I grilled it with a teaspoon of honey and boiled the spinach for one minute. The poached egg ( I know it’s not good looking and I was not happy with the result. I would do better one next time ) .That’s it all. Arrange all things and have a good breakfast, guys.

This is my lunch ( with a small bowl of steamed rice )

iltz7MUG13MZqTUVpTVQQEfP_n0fFGxkDpaptkdSHLc

Ingredients :

4 clove red onion, thinly sliced

2 clove garlic, thinly sliced

1 piece of fingerroot/Chinese keys ( * optional ) this gives more fragrant to the soup

1 cup of fresh corn or canned corn ( I use the fresh corn )

A bunch of spinach ( about one bowl 16cm )

1 cup of boiling water

Pinch of salt and pepper

Methods :

* Put the red onion, fingerroot and garlic together with the fresh corn in the boiling water and cook it for two minutes

* When the corn is softened, add the spinach. Just cook for a minute. Sprinkle the salt and pepper to taste.

* Serve warm.

Leave a Reply

