Two Ways of Roasting Garlic

XQTr2zm3rxs2MGY_TEBPRk_1xYmnmJTuaHsyC-gnDIw

I fell in love with roasted garlic for the first time at a Korean restaurant. I was curious to try it when the waitress who attended the barbecue cooking at our table roasted a small bowl of garlic diving in a pond of sesame oil. I was not so sure that I would like the taste but then the first bite had caught me in full swing of its amazing tender and sweet taste. It didn’t take a day to decide that this would always be my favorite snack.

I put here two pictures of two ways I love roasting it. First picture is I roast the whole . Peel the outer layers ( I didn’t peel it completely ) then cut about a 1/2 inch from the top of the clove. Pour some sesame seed oil or olive oil into each of the clove, wrap it with foil, put in a ramekin or if you make more, put them into the muffin pan. Bake it at 190 C for about 20-30 minutes,  you may check it if it has softened. I love to have it a little bit overcooked which you can get a very soft one, tastes like mashed potato.

QLTXJ4i6xywZvwg-LhjtvN5Y-e0Mqy0VbV0ygmYvYC4

This second picture is the one like I had at the Korean restaurant. Peel some cloves, put into a ramekin and pour one tablespoon of sesame seed oil or as many as you like, and bake it for about 20 minutes at 190C . I like it with a tiny pinch of salt, mix together with the sesame seed oil.

Then just grab a fork and enjoy one of the world’s healthiest snack ever known.

Leave a Reply

